22nd October 2017

Library

Welcome to English Modern School Al Khor Library!

The English Modern School – Al Khor Library houses over 22,000 books. The library was enlarged to better meet the needs of students and staff. It is divided into the following sections:

  • Everybody Section
  • Arabic
  • Fiction Books for Years 3-6
  • Fiction Books for Years 7-12
  • Fiction Books for Years 10-12
  • Non-Fiction Section
  • Reference Section
  • Teacher Resources

 

LIBRARY STAFF

The books are also grouped by reading level, using the Fountas and Pinnell System. Almost all the books in the library are marked with the Fountas & Pinnell reading level to ensure that students select reading materials that are appropriate to their level.

APRIL GABIOLA – Librarian

SAMIRA BENDJELLOULLibrary Assistant

 

LIBRARY HOURS

Before school – 7:00 a.m. to 7:20 a.m.

Break

After school – 1:47 p.m. to 2:10 p.m.

We are happy to assist faculty and staff anytime between 6:45 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

The primary students visit the library on a regular schedule for book checkout. Aside from their regular library class visit, they may come to the library provided that their teachers give them library passes. The library has computer units available for the students and staff to use for internet service.

At the EMS Al Khor Campus, we love to read!

 

What do we have in the Library?

*Search the Library database – DESTINY QUEST (Catalog)

*Enjoy books online!!!

Click TUMBLEBOOKS

Username: emsalkhor

Password: books

 

Click on the underlined links below to find what the information you need.

ANIMALS

San Diego Zoo (http://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/)

Wildlife Conservation (http://www.wcs.org/)

Birds – All about Birds (http://www.allaboutbirds.org/page.aspx?pid=1189)

Animal Guide - Monterey Aquarium (http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animal-guide)

Dinosauria (http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/diapsids/dinosaur.html)

 

OUR PLANET

From Canada. Kids learning about the Ecology (http://ecokids.ca/pub/kids_home.cfm)

Planets – Kids Astronomy (http://www.kidsastronomy.com/)

Biomes of the World – Blue Planet (http://www.blueplanetbiomes.org/world_biomes.html)

Canadian National Geographic (http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/kids/default.asp)

 

SCIENCE

Catch the Science Bug (http://www.sciencebug.org/)

Science Buddies (http://www.sciencebuddies.org/)

Science News for Kids (https://student.societyforscience.org/sciencenews-students)

Science Kids (http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts.html)

Weather Wiz Kids (http://www.weatherwizkids.com/)

National Geographic Kids (http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/)

From Science Bob. Students learn how to do experiments, find a science fair project, watch videos and ask general questions.(http://www.sciencebob.com/index.php)

 

THE ARTS – Music, Art, Sports, Museums, Crafts

Arts – ALA – Great Websites for Kids (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts)

 

MUSIC

Sponsored by the Charles H. Dater Foundation. Features different composers, games and general information about music.

(http://www.classicsforkids.com/)

 

COLORING PAGES

An assortment of different images to color (http://www.coloring-pages-kids.com/)

 

SPORTS

Sports – ALA (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts/sports)

 

HISTORY

Middle Ages (http://gws.ala.org/node/8144#.VFcOOK8cTIU)

 

ENGLISH – READING – GRAMMAR

Shakespeare for Kids (http://www.folger.edu/template.cfm?cid=588)

Idioms – The Idiom Connection (http://www.certifiedchinesetranslation.com/idioms/)

Star Fall – Reading and Phonics for Primary students (http://www.starfall.com/)

Find out about your favorite authors and read reviews! (http://www.kidsreads.com/)

 

RESEARCH HELP

How to organize a research paper from Sayres School (http://www.sayreschool.org/uploaded/Academics/Library/Middle_Upper_School/Research_Notebook_2.pdf)

Citation help and research skills (http://oslis.org/)

EasyBib – Great for making easy citations for books and websites (http://www.easybib.com/)

OWL at Perdue – Great website to help students know how to cite their sources

(https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/02/)

 

GENERAL INFORMATION

Info Please – current events from 1997 to 2014 (http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0005971.html)

Primary Sources – ALA (http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/history/resources/pubs/usingprimarysources)

News and Current events

http://time.com/

http://www.bbc.com/news

 

MATH

Fun Brain – Math and Reading games (http://www.funbrain.com/)

 

EDUCATIONAL GAMES FOR STUDENTS

Great for kids of all ages. Includes crafts, recipes, science, magic, games, jokes, trivia and more. (http://www.funology.com/)

Explore and play hundreds of fun educational games at this website by PBS. (PBS Kids)

Tons of fun games, book reviews, and videos to check out at this CBC website. (CBC Kids)

For younger kids. It has videos, games and activities. (http://www.knowledgekids.ca/)

 

Cambridge logo   SEC logo